Upon the release of the Australia Day 2018 Honours List, we were delighted that industry icon, Hart Krtschil, who sadly passed away in September of 2016 after a brave and lengthy battle with cancer, had received an award in the General Division and for eternity will be a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.  As a result of this, when making reference to his name, he will also be entitled to the post-nominals of (AM).

For those representatives at AFIF and CBFCA who worked very closely on a number of committees with Hart, most notably the Industry Working Group on Quarantine (later to become ‘Biosecurity’)  and the Sydney Sea Cargo Facilitation Committees, we remember not only his vast knowledge and expertise but also his dry wit and great sense of humour.

Therefore, in addition to the memories we have of a wise old friend and colleague, we can now also celebrate the fact that he has also received the highest recognition he could achieve in this country.  His partner, Evelyn, is rightly proud and feels this is a great recognition of his life’s work for this industry. 

Let’s raise a glass, once again, to Hart Krtschil (AM) and toast this man who cared deeply about protecting Australia in his work with the Govt. Quarantine and Biosecurity services and his desire for improved efficiency and fairness in the process.

Brian Lovell, CEO, AFIF and Paul Damkjaer, CEO, CBFCA

Herewith are the official Biographical notes as gazetted in the Australia Day 2018 Honours List, Order of Australia section.


The Late Mr Hartmut KRTSCHIL Late of Willoughby NSW 2068

For significant service to biosecurity and quarantine systems, to compliance development, and to the freight transport industry.

Service includes:


  • Chair, Australian Industry Working Group on Biosecurity (formerly the Industry Working Group on Quarantine), 1993-2016.
  • Chair, Industry Cargo Consultative Committee, Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service, 1993-2010.
  • Member, Quarantine and Exports Advisory Committee (ministerial committee), for 10 years. Chair, Cargo Facilitation Committee, NSW Ports, 1986-2013 and Committee Member, 1974- 2016.
  • Freight and Logistics: Group General Manager, Seaton's Freight Terminal, early 1990s.
  • NSW State Manager, Liner Services Pty Ltd, 1970s-1980s.

Awards and recognition includes:

  • Recipient, Inaugural Secretary's Award, Commonwealth Department of Agriculture and Water Resources, 2016.
  • Recipient, Inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award, Commonwealth Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, 2010.
  • Recipient, Industry Award, Customs Brokers and Forwarders Council of Australia, 2008.
  • Recipient, Quarantine Certificate of Commendation, Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service, 1998